The All Progressive Party, APC, held its National Convention on Saturday, electing several party officials. With over 7,000 delegates in attendance, the party successfully held the event after much talk of disunity amongst the party members.

Elected officials 
Party faithfuls elected most top positions by consensus; a method that has been adopted as a culture, but most importantly, written in Article 20 of APC’s constitution. Abdullahi Adamu emerged as the National Chairman of the ruling party after six other candidates withdrew from the race following an agreement amongst party members.

  • Deputy National Chairman (North) Elect, Sen. Abubakar Kyari and National Secretary Elect, Otunba Iyiola Omisore, also emerged victors, as the consensus arrangement favored them. 
  • They elected 74 other officials into national positions at the party’s national convention in Eagles square, Abuja. 

Two candidates, Mary Ekpe and Hon. Nduka refused to concede to the party’s endorsed choice and went ahead to contest for their preferred positions. While the former lost the position of National Women Leader, the latter lost the National Welfare Secretary. 

Major Talking Points
Both National Chairman and Deputy National Chairman elect hold positions in the Senate house. Sen. Abdullahi Adamu represents Nasarawa West senatorial district for the third tenure in a row, while Deputy National Chairman (North) Sen. Abubakar Kyari represents Borno north senatorial district. 

  • With the 2023 general elections fast approaching, reports say that some members of the ruling party have complained about the double roles of these two elected officers. 
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.