The national convention of Nigeria’s ruling party, the All-Progressive Congress (APC), entered the second day of a three-day event to elect the party’s presidential flag bearer for the 2023 presidential election. 

What happened at the convention 

  • The 23 presidential aspirants (except Mr. Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba, the immediate past Minister of state for Education) as expected, gave speeches to woo delegates into voting them as the party’s flag bearer. 
  • Seven presidential candidates in their remarks highlighted their successes in the political positions they have occupied over the years but stepped down for Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu as they find him a more suitable presidential candidate. 
  • These candidates include Ekiti State Governor Kayode Fayemi, Senator Godswill Akpabio, Senator Ibikunle Amosun, former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Mr. Dimeji Bankole, Governor of Jigawa State, Mohammed Badaru, Senator Ajayi Boroffice, and the only female candidate Mrs. Uju Ohanenye.
  • Mr. Nicholas Felix, the youngest presidential aspirant of the party, also stepped down for Vice President Yemi Osinbanjo. 

What they are saying 

  • Addressing the delegates, party Faithfuls and aspirants, President Muhammadu Buhari charged them to follow due process, abide by the laws of the party and support the winners of the election in good faith. 
  • Recounting his successes, President Buhari listed the country’s response to insecurity, management of Covid-19 pandemic, recognition of Nigeria in Africa and beyond, amongst others.
  • The former Minister of Transportation, Chibuike Rotimi Amaechi, in his speech beckoned the delegates to assess him and other aspirants by their contributions to the country in their various political positions in the past. 
  • Governor Yahaya Bello of Kogi State, in his speech, listed victory over insecurity, improved education and healthcare and the participation of youths and women as his 6 years tenure achievement. 
  • Other speakers, including Vice President Prof Yemi Osinbanjo, Senate President Ahmad Lawan, former Lagos State Governor, Ahmed Tinubu, spoke of their wealth of experience in Nigerian politics and how they would address the current situation of the country. 
  • Dr Ogbonnaya Onu, Cross River State Governor, Senator Ben Ayade, former Imo State Governor Rochas Okorocha and others also spoke of unity and their plans for a better Nigeria. 

What you should know 

  • The non-agreement of the party Faithfuls to present a consensus candidate means that the aspirant with the highest number of votes by delegates becomes the party’s presidential flag bearer.
  • The number of delegates to vote at APC presidential primaries reduces to 2321 as Alhaji Isa Baba Buni slumped and died on Tuesday. 
  • Nigeria’s ruling party ends the three-day convention today.
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.