The Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi, the last of Ministers with presidential ambition, has resigned his position following the directive by President Muhammadu Buhari for all FEC members nursing ambitions for 2023 elections to resign their positions on or before Monday 16th May 2022.

Driving the news 
Rotimi Amaechi, a former governor of Rivers State, joins already resigned FEC members including the Minister of State for Education, Emeka Nwajiuba, the Minister of Science and Technology, Ogbonnaya Onu, the Minister of Niger Delta, Godswill Akpabio, amongst others.

  • Nigeria’s Minister of State for Petroleum, Timipre Sylva, Minister for Labour and Employment, Chris Ngige, Attorney-General and Minister of Justice, Abubakar Malami (SAN), and the Minister of Women Affairs, Pauline Tallen have all dropped their political aspirations for the 2023 elections to focus on their current jobs as Ministers. 

In case you missed it 

  • Nigeria’s President Muhammadu Buhari last Wednesday directed all political appointees, including members of the Federal Executive Council (FEC) with political ambitions for the upcoming elections in 2023 to resign their current offices.
  • The directive affects Heads and Members of Extra-Ministerial Departments, Agencies and Parastatals of Government Ambassadors. 
  • As a parting ceremony, Nigeria’s President held a valedictory ceremony in the nation’s capital, Abuja, to send forth the outgoing ministers. 

What Amaechi said 
In his statement, the Minister thanked the President for the privilege of serving in his cabinet from 2015. He added that “it is with mixed feelings that I tender my resignation as the Minister of Transportation of the Federal Republic of Nigeria to contest for the Presidential ticket of our great party, the All-Progressives Congress.”

The Minister of State for Transportation, Senator Gbemisola Ruqayyah Saraki, has assumed the leadership of the Federal Ministry of Transportation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.