Nigerian Governors under the ruling party, the All-Progressives Congress (APC) have recommended a five-man list of presidential aspirants to the delegates ahead of the party’s primary election. 

Driving the news 
Chairman of the Northern Governors Forum and Plateau State Governor, Simon Lalong, made this known during a televised interview on Tuesday.

  • According to him, the APC governors recommended Vice President Prof Yemi Osinbajo, former Lagos State governor Bola Tinubu, former Minister of Transportation Rotimi Ameachi, Governor of Ekiti State, Kayode Fayemi and Governor of Ebonyi State, Dave Umahi.

What they are saying 
In the interview, Gov Simon Lalong said the governors are working towards the possibility of having a consensus candidate, according to the advice of Nigeria’s President, Muhammadu Buhari. 

  • His speech in part reads “the governors and the National Working Committee will continue on that consensus. As of yesterday, we were able to even reduce and make recommendations of about five persons, from 23 to recommendations of about 13 aspirants without disqualifying anybody.”

Current situation
This development is coming a day after the APC chairman Abdullahi Adamu reportedly declared Senate president Ahmad Lawan as the APC’s consensus candidate.

  • The five presidential aspirants are to consult amongst themselves to know the possibility of a consensus candidate.

What you should know

  • The APC has 2,340 delegates lined up to cast their votes in this year’s presidential primaries if the aspirants do not accept the consensus model of primaries.
  • APC’s presidential primaries would be held from June 6th through 8th 2022.
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.