The Academic Staff Union of Polytechnic (ASUP) has on Monday called off its two weeks warning strike following an agreement with the federal government of Nigeria. The Union also demanded that its members resume immediately. 

Driving the news
The National Publicity Secretary of ASUP, Abdullahi Yalwa, in a statement announcing the end of the strike, disclosed that the federal government had met their four basic demands. 

  • The government during the two weeks strike began the payment of arrears of the new minimum wage to all lecturers of the affected Federal Polytechnic.  
  • The federal government has also approved and distributed regulatory instruments for the accreditation of institutions, management and programmes of polytechnics. 
  • Both parties, FG and ASUP, reached a decision on the victimization of the union members of the institute of Management and Technology, Enugu, who were dismissed from service for participating in the 2017 strike ordered by the union, ASUP. 
  • Lastly, the federal government withdrew the controversial Federal Polytechnic Act, which typifies a template to appoint principal officers by the Federal Ministry of Education.

In case you missed it 
The polytechnic union in Nigeria, ASUP, on May 16th 2022, embarked on a two weeks warning strike to compel the federal government to address its concerns. 

What they are saying 
Abdullahi Yalwa in the statement said the Union is suspending the strike hoping the federal government would address the other demands before its 103rd National Executive Council (NEC) meeting in June 2022. 

What you should know 

  • Although ASUP has suspended the strike, the federal government addressed only four of its demands. 
  • Some of its outstanding issues include the non-payment of the approved N15 billion revitalization funds, the non-payment of arrears of CONTISS 15 migration for the lower cadre and the release of the Scheme of Service and Conditions of Service.
  • Prolonged delay in the appointment of principal officers for the Federal Polytechnic in Mubi, Offa, and Kaduna and the non-settlement with members in Colleges of Agriculture.
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.