As earlier scheduled, the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) yesterday released the final list of candidates for the 2023 general elections. The list of Presidential, Senatorial and Federal Constituency candidates was published in fulfilment of section 32(1) of the Electoral Act 2022 and item 8 of the Timetable and Schedule of Activities for the 2023 General Election.

Key notes of the final list 
Three household names who were unsure of their candidacy have received a verdict by the final list published by INEC. The commission granted the candidacy of Governor David Umahi of Ebonyi State and the former governor of Akwa Ibom Godswill Akpabio while denying Senate President, Ahmad Lawan. 

In case you missed it 
On May 27th, DIG Ekpo Udom (rtd) won APC’s primary election for Akwa Ibom North West Senatorial District in the presence of INEC officials. But a rerun election saw Godswill Akpabio emerge as the party’s flag bearer shortly after the former governor stepped down for Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, who went on to win the party’s presidential ticket, at APC’s presidential primaries. A court order last week supported the candidacy claim of Godswill Akpabio.

In the case of Senate President Ahmad Lawan, Bashir Sheriff Machina solely contested the Yobe North senatorial district, securing the party’s ticket with 289 votes. Following the loss of the lawmaker at the party’s presidential primaries, the National Chairman of the APC, Abdullahi Adamu, then reportedly urged Bashir Sheriff Machina to relinquish his candidacy to Ahmad Lawan with threats to sanction Machina if he refuses. Bashir Sheriff Machina promised not to bow to the pressure by the party as he rightly gained the party’s ticket. 

A Federal High Court in Abakaliki, Ebonyi State disqualified the current governor of the state, David Umahi, from participating in the state’s 2023 senatorial election after a rerun election saw the governor emerge as the APC’s senatorial candidate in the state. 

What you should know  
The final list published by INEC comprises the names of candidates validly nominated for next year’s general elections at the end of party primaries and the extended period for withdrawal and substitution of candidates. 

INEC would on October 4, publish the final list of nominated candidates for state elections as indicated on INEC’s timetable and schedule of activities for the 2023 General Elections.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.