The former Lagos State Governor and National Leader of Nigeria’s ruling party, All Progressive Congress (APC), Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu on Wednesday won the party’s presidential ticket for 2023 elections. 

Driving the news 
The former governor defeated his counterparts with 1,271 votes; runner-up, former Rivers State Governor, Rotimi Amaechi scoring 316 votes and second runner-up, Vice President Yemi Osinbajo scoring 235 votes.

  • Also on the list, Senate President Ahmed Lawan also scored 152 votes, Kogi State Governor, Yahaya Bello scored 47 votes, and Cross River State Gover, Ben Ayade scored 37 votes.

Quick catch-up 
Nigeria’s ruling party, APC held a special convention from Monday 6th June – Wednesday 8th June 2022 with over 2000 delegates in attendance to elect a presidential candidate for the 2023 presidential election out of 23 aspirants.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.