The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has announced the candidate of the All-Progressive Congress (APC), Abiodun Oyebanji, as the winner of the Ekiti State governorship election with 187,057 votes. 

Driving the news 
Abiodun Oyebanji emerged as the Governor-elect beating his rival, Segun Oni of the Social Democratic Party, who secured 82, 211 votes. In third place was the candidate of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) with 67,457 votes. INEC’s Chief Returning Officer, Kayode Adebowale, announced the result of the election in the state.

Worthy of note

  • Nigeria’s ruling party rose above the speculations of an internal crisis that might have ensued during the party’s gubernatorial primaries earlier in the year. The presence of APC’s National leader, Bola Tinubu, at the Governor-elect campaign rally also played a significant role in presenting a United front going into the election.
  • With APC’s new victory in the state, the ruling party retains its status as the ruling party in the state for the next four years. 
  • Kayode Fayemi, the current governor of the state, has written his name in history as the first governor to install a successor since the start of democratic elections in Ekiti State. 

The media aide of the SDP gubernatorial candidate, Segun Oni has rejected the election result due to claims of ballot snatching and buying of votes by eventual winners, APC. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.