The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) on Sunday announced the candidate of the People’s Democratic Party Senator Ademola Adeleke as the winner of the Osun State governorship election. 

Driving the news 
Senator Ademola Adeleke won 17 out of the 30 local government areas in which the state’s gubernatorial elections were held while the current governor of the state, Adegboyega Oyetola won the remaining 13 local government areas. 

  • The election result as announced by INEC’s chief returning officer, Oluwatoyin Ogundipe disclosed that while the PDP candidate, Senator Ademola Adeleke secured 403,371 votes, Gov Adegboyega Oyetola of APC, Nigeria’s ruling party, got 375, 027 votes. 
  • Kehinde Atanda of the Action Democratic Party (ADP) in the election took third place with 10,104 votes, while Akin Ogunbiyi of the Accord Party was fourth with 4,515 votes. 

Worthy of note 
Nigeria’s two leading parties, APC and PDP, once again exerted their authority as the two most popular parties in the country. Observers of the Osun State election claim that the dominance of these parties in the state’s election is not a clear representation of the likely outcome of the 2023 presidential election since the emergence of the Labour Party as the third force. 

  • Senator Ademola Adeleke contested the governorship seat of Osun State with the current governor, Adegboyega Oyetola in 2018 which he narrowly lost by 350 votes.
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.