Independent National Electoral Commision – INEC.

On 18 June 2022, the indigenes of Ekiti State would go to the polls to elect their preferred governorship candidate for the next four years. INEC has to that effect released a 16-man list of all qualified candidates and parties. 

The Latest:

Lawmakers to challenge APC direct primaries in Ekiti State

APC set date for primaries in Ekiti State 

INEC releases date for Ekiti State elections

INEC has declared the 16 candidates vying for the governorship seat fit after undergoing scrutiny according to the Electoral Act 2022. As with every election, the aspirants who lost out during primaries and nominations have cried foul play. 

While Abiodun Oyebanji became the governorship candidate for the All-Progressives Congress (APC), Olabisi Kolawole won the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) ticket. Two females, Christiana Olatawura of the Action Peoples Party (APP) and Elebute-Halle Kemi, of the Action Democratic Party (ADP) emerged as flag bearers of their respective parties.

One top issue the incoming governor of Ekiti State would need to address is the continuous dispute between cattle herders and farmers despite the anti grazing law passed by former Governor Ayo Fayose. Politically, both parties APC and PDP would be looking to stamp their presence in the state as in the last 8 years, both parties have each governed the state. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.