The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has set dates for gubernatorial elections in three states whose incumbent governor’s tenure runs out in 2024. INEC fixed November 11th 2023 for governorship elections in Imo, Kogi and Bayelsa states.

Why it matters
This announcement fulfils Section 28 (1) of the Electoral Act 2022, which mandates INEC to publish the notice of election 360 days before the fixed date for voters to exercise their franchise. 

What you should know 
All thirty-six states in Nigeria do not elect governors at the same time every four years. For instance, in the 2023 gubernatorial state elections, only thirty-one states would hold elections with the exclusion of Imo, Kogi, Bayelsa, Anambra, Osun and Ekiti State. Osun and Ekiti State elected governors in 2022, while Anambra State conducted theirs in 2021. 

However, Presidential, Senate and House of Representatives elections would be held in 2023. 

The tenure of the incumbent governor of Imo State ends on January 14, 2024, while that of the governor of Kogi and Bayelsa State ends on January 26, 2024, and February 13, 2024, respectively.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.