Shortly after the peaceful passing of Queen Elizabeth II on September 8th 2022, some other members of the British Royal Family took on new titles. 

The King 
Moments after Queen Elizabeth II passed, her eldest son, Charles, became the UK’s king. The king’s full name is Charles Philip Arthur George Mountbatten-Windsor, from which he could have picked his official royal title. The King, however, opted for King Charles III.

Queen Consort 
Camilla, the wife of King Charles III, was technically known as the Princess of Wales, although she never used the title. Before Queen Elizabeth II’s death, her wishes were for Camilla to be referred to as Camilla, Queen Consort. King Charles III, in his first public statement as the UK’s monarch, confirmed he would follow his mother’s wishes and call Camilla, the Queen Consort. 

A “queen consort is a lady who married a king,” whereas a “queen is a woman who was born to be queen and is the head of state – not the wife of a monarch. The British Royal Family’s official website defines a “consort” as a “companion to the Sovereign.”

Prince of Wales 
The King following his ascension, named his eldest son, Prince William, as the new Prince of Wales. Prince William is also the Duke of Cornwall and Duke of Cambridge. He is the heir apparent to the throne. 

Princess of Wales 
The wife of Prince William, Kate Middleton, has received the title of Princess of Wales. She is also the first to hold the title since Princess Diana died in 1997. Kate Middleton is also the Duchess of Cornwall and Duchess of Cambridge. 

Prince William’s children 
The children of Prince William have added “of Wales” to their titles. Therefore, they would now be referred to as Prince George of Wales, Princess Charlotte of Wales, and Prince Louis of Wales. Prince George is second in line to the throne, while Princess Charlotte and Prince Louis are third and fourth.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.