Late Queen Elizabeth II

With the Queen’s death, Charles is now the head of state in Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, The Bahamas, Belize, Canada, Grenada, Jamaica, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Solomon Islands, and Tuvalu, in addition to the United Kingdom.

It is expected that some of these countries may try to become Republics and ditch the Royal family.

What we are looking at.
Barbados became a republic last year, and Jamaica has shown a desire to do the same. And yesterday, Antigua and Barbuda’s Prime Minister Gaston Browne indicated the country would vote on whether to remain as part of the commonwealth nations.

In contrast, Australia’s Labour Prime Minister, Anthony Albanese, has said that a referendum will not be held to determine a republican state for at least four years.

In the aftermath of the Queen’s death, New Zealand Prime Minister Jacinda Ardern stated that the country will not seek to become a republic.

What to expect.
With republican groups gaining traction from Australia to the Bahamas, the new monarch faces a difficult task in maintaining the Commonwealth states in the royal fold.

Several are already planning referendums to become republics and replace him as head of state, now that the late monarch’s death has severed nostalgic links.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.