Nigeria’s lawmakers have, on Wednesday, screened and confirmed the seven ministers nominated by President Muhammadu Buhari to replace the departed ministers from the President’s Cabinet. 

Driving the news
Reports say that of the seven nominees, the lawmakers excused three candidates from answering questions from the Senate. While the remaining four candidates answered the questions posed to them. 

  • The nominees exempted from answering the questions include Goodluck Nana Opiah (Imo), Umar Ibrahim El-Yakub (Kano) and Ademola Adewole Adegoroye (Ondo).
  • The nominees who answered the questions were Henry Ikechukwu Ikoh (Abia) Umana Okon Umana (Akwa Ibom), Ekumankama Joseph Nkama (Ebonyi) and Odum Odi (Rivers).

In case you missed it 

  • President Muhammadu Buhari ordered all the ministers with political ambitions in the 2023 general elections to resign from the cabinet. 
  • This directive triggered the resignation of some ministers, including Rotimi Amaechi, Godswill Akpabio, Ogbonnaya Onu, Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba and many others. 
  • Other ministers, including the Minister of Labour and Employment, Dr Chris Ngige, dumped their political ambition to retain his position as a minister.
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.