The Ministers nominated by President Muhammadu Buhari are to appear before the Nigerian lawmakers on the 29th June 2022 for a screening exercise. The President of the Senate, Ahmad Lawan, made the announcement on Wednesday just before the close of this week’s plenary. 

In case you missed it 

  • President Muhammadu Buhari ordered all the ministers with political ambitions in the 2023 general elections to resign from the cabinet. 
  • This directive triggered the resignation of some ministers, including Rotimi Amaechi, Godswill Akpabio, Ogbonnaya Onu, Chukwuemeka Nwajiuba and many others. 
  • Other ministers, including the Minister of Labour and Employment, Dr Chris Ngige, dumped their political ambition to retain his position as a minister.

Why it matters
The nominees are to fill up the ministerial positions vacated by the ministers, who resigned to pursue political ambitions in 2023 elections. They would occupy the positions till the new government resumes in May 2023. The right ministers can reach set milestones regardless of the length of their service, hence the need for screening by the Senate. 

The nominees 

  • The nominees for confirmation include Henry Ikechukwu Ikoh – Abia State; Umana Okon Umana – Akwa Ibom State; Ekumankama Joseph Nkama- Ebonyi State; and Goodluck Nana Opiah – Imo State.
  • Others are Umar Ibrahim El-Yakub – Kano State; Ademola Adewole Adegoroye – Ondo State; and Odum Odi – Rivers State.
Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.