Nigeria’s opposition party, the People’s Democratic Party (PDP) on Wednesday conducted its primary election to elect candidates representing the party in the 2023 governorship election. 

PDP’s only governorship representation in southwest Nigeria, Engineer Seyi Makinde of Oyo State and Gov Ahmadu Fintiri of Adamawa state floored their opponents as the former won with 1040 votes while the latter won all 668 accredited votes. 

There was drama in Ogun state as delegates held two separate primaries in the state producing two winners, Ladi Adebutu at Olusegun Obasanjo Presidential Library (OOPL), Abeokuta and Segun Sowunmi at the Nigeria Union of Journalists Press Centre, Owe Iroyin, in Abeokuta. The confusion ensued over the delegates appointed to vote at the party’s primaries in the state. Following the accreditation of the right delegates, Ladi Adebutu eventually won the election, becoming the party’s candidate in the state.

Similarly, in Delta State Governor Ifeanyi Okowa’s endorsed choice, the Speaker of the Delta State House of Assembly, Sheriff Oborevwori, won the party’s gubernatorial ticket by defeating all other candidates. The speaker won 590 votes of the total 821 valid votes cast. 

In the southeast, Mr Peter Mbah, the preferred choice of Gov Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi of Enugu state, got the party’s ticket. Mbah won 790 votes out of the 807 votes cast, with the closest opponent getting just 9 votes. 

Professor Uche Ikonne, the former vice chancellor of Abia State university, also secured the party’s governorship ticket following endorsement from Governor Okezie Ikpeazu.

In Akwa Ibom state, two aspirants, Onofiok Luke and Bassey Albert, withdrew from the election with the former stating his reason to be a decision by himself and his campaign team and the latter citing a court order. Pastor Umo Eno, former Commissioner for Lands and Water Resources, then emerged as the party’s ticket holder. 

Mr. Ibrahim Kashim Mohammed, former Secretary to Bauchi State Government, won the ticket unopposed. 

In Sokoto State, the former secretary to the State government, Saidu Umar emerged as the winner of the primary after several aspirants withdrew. The election was determined by a consensus. 

David Ombugadu of Nasarawa State won the party’s ticket with 247 votes, with his closest opponent securing 203 votes.

Muhammad Barde emerged the winner in Gombe State with 160 votes and his closet rival getting 119 votes. They barred two delegates from casting their votes after they arrived late for the exercise, making a total of 328 votes cast. 

At the time of this report, they had not yet announced Kaduna and Kano states as the delegates started the election late in the evening on Wednesday. 

Other winners include the former PDP chairman in Taraba, Kefas Agbu, Abdullah Yahman in Kwara state, Sheriff Abdullahi of Yobe State, former Account-General Siminialayi Fubara won in River State, Olajide Adediran for Lagos State and Titus Uba in Benue state.

Worthy of note 
One underlying factor that ensured the success of most of the governorship aspirants in the party’s primaries was an endorsement from the sitting governor of the state.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.