The National Chairman of the All-Progressive Congress, Senator Abdullahi Adamu and Deputy National Chairman (North), Abubakar Kyari have on Tuesday resigned their positions in the Nigerian Senate. 

Driving the news 
Senator Abdullahi Adamu and Abubakar Kyari, representing Nasarawa West senatorial district and Borno North district respectively, resigned their positions following their new appointment in Nigeria’s ruling party, APC. 

  • Apart from being lawmakers representing districts, Senator Abdullahi Adamu chaired the Senate committee on Agriculture and Rural Development, while Abubakar Kyari chaired the committee on Federal Capital Territory. 

Why it matters 
The appointment of Senator Abdullahi Adamu and Abubakar Kyari as APC’s party leaders at the last national convention was a major talking point as party faithfuls doubted the effectiveness of the appointees, seeing they would occupy two highly demanding positions; as lawmakers in the Nigerian senate and party leaders in the country’s ruling party. 

  • Following their resignation as lawmakers, Senator Abdullahi Adamu and Abubakar Kyari can focus on rightly positioning APC for success in the forthcoming 2023 general elections.

With the resignation of both lawmakers, the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, will conduct a bye-election within three months to replace the two lawmakers. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.