UK Visa Suspended.

On Saturday 4th December the United Kingdom added Nigeria to the list of countries with travel restriction to the country. This travel ban is said to begin today, Monday 6th December.

Why it matters?
As the cases of the Omicron variant grow, more countries are taking strict actions to secure their country. One of such actions by countries is placing travel bans from African countries.  The UK is the latest country to add Nigeria to its list of countries with travel ban. Secretary of State for Health, Sajid Javid, took to his Twitter page on Saturday to make this announcement.

He said that “From 4 am Monday, only UK/Irish citizens and residents traveling from Nigeria will be allowed entry and must isolate in a managed quarantine facility.” In related news, the British High Commission has announced that the UK has suspended deciding on visa application from every country on its red list, including Nigeria. It added that “There are only very limited exemptions to travel and entry requirements for critical workers and medical and compassionate cases.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.