On Tuesday, Nigeria’s President Muhammadu Buhari awarded National Honours to 477 Nigerians and non-Nigerians across various fields of expertise, including authors, international office holders, religious leaders, creative artists, justices and more. This is a significant exercise, as the Buhari-led administration has held no such event since 2015. 

According to President Muhammadu Buhari, they give the National Honours awards to individuals for their contribution to national development. The award qualifies recipients on scared values like “consistent and meaningful participation in community and/or national development; rendering unsolicited, selfless and philanthropic services to humanity outstanding sacrifice in the defence of a cause popularly adjudged to be positive, relevant and beneficial to the nation and community,” etc.

Furthermore, the award recognizes the efforts of individuals adding value to the country in all spheres of human activities. The award also celebrates the participation of citizens of other countries who have rendered service to the benefit of Nigeria. 

Why the National Honours Award is important 

  • Encourage Patriotism 

Based on the criteria listed by President Muhammadu Buhari for selecting the recipients of the National Honour awards, these awards inspire patriotism and selflessness in other citizens irrespective of gender.

  • Celebrate hard-work 

The National Honour award recognizes and rewards the hard work of persons who have contributed to the development and growth of society. This recognition could, therefore, spark a sense of responsibility in other citizens. 

  • Encourage more work 

With the endowment of these awards, the recipients of the awards are expected to do more excellent work that could further benefit the nation. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.